Heritage Woods Kodiaks – #1 in Fraser North.

Heritage Woods Kodiaks took the Fraser North Zone Championships with a convincing win over Burnaby South Rebels in a low scoring game, 40 – 28 and advance to the Provincials as Fraser North #1 and #2.

Maple Ridge Ramblers defeated Charles Best Blue Devils 60 – 39 as both teams advance onto the Wildcard Tourney next weekend.

And the Host Berth is transferred to the Wildcard Tourney (see details in the 2020 Tournament Information).

Link to the Fraser North Zone Championships

Burnaby South & Heritage Woods to the BC’s

Burnaby South Rebels and Heritage Woods Kodiaks are the first teams to qualify for the BC’s this year with wins over Maple Ridge and Terry Fox at the Fraser North Zone Championships.
Rebels 58 – Ramblers 48 and Kodiaks 50 – Ravens 36.

Maple Ridge Ramblers, Burnaby Mountain Lions, Charles Best Blue Devils and Terry Fox Ravens are in the mix for the Fraser North Zone 2 Wildcard Berths.

And the Host Berth is transferred to the Wildcard Tourney (see details in the 2020 Tournament Information).

Link to the Fraser North Zone Championships

Updates – Feb 5

Berth Allocations will be posted later this week.

Our Forms on the Info, Rules & Forms page, are been converted to online submissions to make submitting your documents easier. No more print, complete, scan and attach to an email.

2020 Tournament Information


February 27, 28, 29 & March 1, 2020
hosted by Burnaby South Secondary School.


All Zones must complete their qualifying championships by Thursday Feb 20.

The Wildcard Berth, Friday Feb 21 & Saturday Feb 22, is an 8 Team Seeded Single Knockout Format with 3 Berths at stake.  It is based on finishes in Zone Playoffs.  The invite is extended to the highest finishing team in the Zone, if that team declines, the next highest placing team is invited.

Wildcard Tourney Seeding Conference Call: Thursday Evening Feb 20 at 8:00 pm.
Wildcard Tourney starts, Friday Feb 21, location is determined Wednesday Feb 19.


All 8 Wildcard Teams Rosters & Team Pics must be in: Friday Feb 21 at 5:00 pm.

All Teams Documents are due: Saturday Feb 22 at 1:00 pm.

Wildcard Team #1 – #2 – #3 Documents are due: Sunday Feb 23 at 1:00 pm.

Championship Seeding Conference Call: Sunday Feb 23 at 3:00 pm.

List of Berths 2020    (20 Berths for 135 registered Teams)

Eastern Valley #1 – #2 – #3 (& 1 Wildcard Berth) for 21 Teams registered.
Chilliwack/Fraser-Cascadia (5) / Abby/Mission (10) / Langley (6)
Zone Rep: Mike Ivany   Jyoti Pawar   Jake Mourtizen
Championships @ WJ Mouat – Feb 10 to 15
Link to Eastern Valley Zone Championships

Fraser South #1 – #2 – #3 (& 2 Wildcard Berths) for 29 Teams registered.
Surrey (16) / Delta (5) / Richmond (8)
Acting Zone Rep: Kerry Taylor
Championships @ Delta area – Feb 18 to 20
Link to Fraser South Zone Championships

Fraser North #1 – #2 (& 2 Wildcard Berths) for 17 Teams registered.
New West/Burnaby (6) / Pitt Meadows/Maple Ridge (3) / Coquitlam (8)
Zone Rep: Ken Dockendorf
Championships @ Maple Ridge – Feb 10 to 14
Link to Fraser North Zone Championships

Kootenay #1  for 1 Team registered. Assigned to Wildcard for 2020.

Okanagan #1 – #2  for 11 Teams registered.
Kamloops (3) / North (2) / Central (4) / South (2)
Zone Rep: Andrew Knudsen
Championships @ Pen High – Feb 10 to Feb 15

North Central – North West#1  for 6 Teams registered. Assigned to Wildcard for 2020.

Vancouver Island #1 – #2  for 18 Teams registered.
North (7) / Naniamo (5) / Mid (4) / South (2)
Zone Rep: James Shepherd

Championships @ GP Vanier – Feb 21 & 22
Link to Vancouver Island Zone Championships

Vancouver Sea to Sky #1 – #2 – #3  (& 2 Wildcard Berths) for 17 Teams registered.
North Van/West Van/Sunshine Coast (13) / Independent (4) / Sea to Sky (0)
Zone Rep: Gerry Karvelis
  Ryan Shams
Championships @ Independent #1 – Feb 18 to 20
Link to Vancouver Sea to Sky Zone Championships

Vancouver #1 – #2 (& 1 Wildcard Berth) for 15 Teams registered.
Zone Rep: Paul Jones

Championships @ Point Grey – Feb 18 to 20
Link to Vancouver Zone Championships
NOTE: For 2020 Vancouver will maintain its own Zone for 2020 Provincial qualification.
For 2021, Vancouver Zone is merged with Vancouver Sea to Sky as defined by BC School Sports and must complete its City Championships in time to participate in the Vancouver Sea to Sky Zone Championships or Wildcard for 2021 Provincial qualification.

Link to BC School Sports new Provincial Zones as of 2020.

Wildcard Berth #1 – #2 – #3
Zone Rep: Rob Slavik
Wildcard @ Location TBA – Feb 21 & 22
8 Team Seeded Single Knockout Format with 3 teams advancing.
EV #4 (#5?) – FS #4 & #5 (#6?) – FN #3 & #4 (#5) – Van Sea #4 & #5 (#6?) – Van #3 (#4?)
 – Teams that are listed with question mark will receive an invite if teams finishing in a higher position decline to attend.
Wildcard Tourney Seeding Conf Call: Thursday Evening Feb 20 at 8:00 pm.
Wildcard Tourney starts, Friday Feb 21 Location TBA.
And no entry costs for the Wildcard teams.

Host Berth #1 – Assigned to Wildcard for 2020.
If Host School advances through the Fraser North Zone, then the Host Berth is added to the Wildcard Tourney for a total of 3 Wildcard Berths and may include additional Berth Allocations if Zones electing not to participate.

Each Zone in BC playing Grade 9 Boys Basketball receives a minimum of one berth.  Berth allocations are reviewed in at the start of the season and will be adjusted and confirmed by the end of January.

Travel Assistance
To assist with team travel; if your team would not be able to attend the 24th BC Gr9 Provincials without this transport assistance, maybe we can help.
Please submit the Bus Transport Request Form.

The BC HIGH SCHOOL GRADE 9 BOYS PROVINCIAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS, now its its 24th year, are non profit with 100% of all monies directly received by the Host School for the benefit of their basketball programs.
Contact us to be considered as a Future Host.

Tournament Directors
Rob Slavik          Steve Pettifer        Robbie Puni

Back to Burnaby South for 2020!

The BC Grade 9 Boys Provincial Championships (celebrating our 24th year), are going back to Burnaby South. Our original pick for 2020 was Centennial, who have done a great job hosting in the past, but unfortunately their new 2nd gym may not be ready in time. We were very pleased when Coach Robbie Puni of Burnaby South offered to Host again and build on the good hosting job they did in 2019.

Thank you Burnaby South! Well Done!

Special Thanks to the Burnaby South Team, Victoria Lee, Principal, PE & Health Department Head, Josh Ogilvie, Teacher and Coach Jason Price, the Athletic Leadership Team known as the Rebels Athletic Crew (the RAC), Rebel team parents and the man on the ground every hour of the Tourney, Robbie Puni, Athletic Director.

And thank you to Tournament and Game Directors, Steve Pettifer, Michael Pettifer, Greg Matic, Jason Price and Parker Simson.

Kelowna Christian Knights, BC Champions!

Kelowna Christian Knights defeated Sir Winston Churchill Bulldogs 66-38 in the Championship Final, completing their Tournament dominance by winning all of their games by an average margin of over 40 points. KCS players featured heavily in the All-Star selections.

Sir Charles Tupper Tigers finished 3rd in the Championships with a 52 – 38 over the Argyle Pipers.

Congratulations to the Kelowna Christian team, the Final Four teams and all of the Teams, Coaches, Players and Fans for a great 4 days!