2016 Tournament Information

BC HIGH SCHOOL 20th ANNUAL 2016 GRADE 9 BOYS
PROVINCIAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIPS

March 3, 4, & 5, 2016
hosted by
Dr Knox Middle School &                   Rutland Senior Secondary
Kelowna, BC

All Zones must complete their qualifying championships by Thursday Feb 25th.

For this year, Wildcard Berths will be by Invitation announced on Feb 26th by 5:00 pm and will be based on finishes in Zone Finals.

Deadline for required documents due either:
Saturday Feb 27 at 1:00 pm and Monday Feb 29 at 1:00 pm.

Championship Seeding Conference Call Sunday Feb 28 at 3:00 pm.

To assist with team travel – School approved Transport Buses have been donated for travel from the Lower Mainland to Kelowna.  There is currently room for 3 teams. If your team would not be able to attend the 20th BC Gr9 Provincials without this transport assistance, maybe we can help.  Please complete the Bus Transport Request Form and submit.


List of Berths 2016    (16 Berths for 103 registered Teams)

Okanagan #1 –                         (for 12 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: David Lafontaine – david.lafontaine@sd23.bc.ca

North Central #1 –                    (for 5 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: Troy Burge – Troy_Burge@sd59.bc.ca
#1 Not attending – Berth to the Wildcard pool

Vancouver Island #1 – #2 –       (for 10 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: James Shepherd – james.shepherd@forces.gc.ca
& Butch Grayton – bgayton@sd69.bc.ca
#2 Not attending – Berth to the Wildcard pool

Vancouver & District #1 – #2 – #3 –  (for 25 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: Gerry Karvelis – gkarvelis@nvsd44.bc.ca

Independent #1–                       (for 6 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: Brodan Thiel – BThiel@stgeorges.bc.ca

Vancouver #1 – #2 –                  (for 12 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: Randy Coutts – rcoutts@vsb.bc.ca

Fraser Valley #1 – #2 – #3 –       (for 33 Teams registered)
Zone Rep: Mark Huberts – mhuberts@unitychristian.ca

Wildcard Berth #1 – #2 – #3
Selection between – Van #3 – Indep #2, #3 – V & D #4, #5, #6 – FV #4, #5, #6 – OK#2
Zone Rep: Rob Slavik – rob.slavik@gmail.com

Host Berths #1 – #2                                                                                                                     Dr Knox Falcons   &   Rutland Voodoos

BERTHS                                                                                                                        Each Zone in BC playing Grade 9 basketball receives a minimum of one berth.           Berth allocations were reviewed in at the start of the season and confirmed in January.


 Tournament Directors
Rob Slavik – rob.slavik@gmail.com                                                                                   David Lafontaine –david.lafontaine@sd23.bc.ca                                                            Steve Pettifer – spetts@shaw.ca